We’re Back… and so are they

It was a hairy time there for a while. No posts in fifteen days. Have I given up the site? No. A few issues came up that required my immediate attention, such as a horrible illness (I’m better now) and having both of my computers die on me in a matter of hours. But I’m back now, and will be able to continue serving this website the best way I know how.

Today as I search my normal information venues (as always, I provide links), I found this tidbit from the New York Times: The GhostNet. The University of Toronto was asked by the office of the Dalai Lama to check its systems for malware. The check uncovered the GhostNet.

The GhostNet is believed to be involved in spying on computers in 103 countries, and while it appears to be controlled in China, no one knows if the Chinese government is involved.

“The malware is remarkable both for its sweep — in computer jargon, it has not been merely “phishing” for random consumers’ information, but “whaling” for particular important targets — and for its Big Brother-style capacities. It can, for example, turn on the camera and audio-recording functions of an infected computer, enabling monitors to see and hear what goes on in a room. The investigators say they do not know if this facet has been employed.” (From the article)

Clearly, such a piece of espionage technology could be dangerous if used by “the wrong people.” Though, even after reading that article, one thing I still want to know, is how did the Dalai Lama know to ask Canada to search for something?

Spy System

Leave a Reply

