Governement Motors

When I arrived home from school yesterday, I picked my mother up and took her out. I figured she could use an outing.

I asked her to pick where she wanted to eat lunch at. Of all places, she picked McDonald’s.

While I was eating, I noticed they had a television affixed to Fox News, not my usual choice for news, but whatever.

That was when I found out that I, along with 300 million other people in the US were part owners of General Motors.

The United States bought a 60% stake in the company while Canada bought a 12% stake.

This was the first time I’d heard that Canada’s government was throwing bailout money at General Motors as well.

I thought about it for a minute and figured it made sense as several of their cars are created in Canada.

“Great,” I thought. “I always wanted to own a car company…”

Leave a Reply

