The Art of War

I do not think a good or bad review of Sun Tzu’s seminal classic, “The Art of War” will affect sales (or downloads on Project Gutenberg).

A few months ago, I took a cross-town trek to Chamblin’s Book Mine. My brother was unable to go, so I said I’d find a book for him. He’s a history major in college, so I figured a history book would be a good find.

After getting lost (seriously) I came across a used copy of Sun Tzu’s book (they had hundreds it seemed like). I pulled out my cell phone and asked him if wanted a copy. He was ecstatic, it had been on his list for a while. So I bought it.

The version I bought was the Barnes & Noble Classics version, it contained the actual translated book as translated by Lionel Giles, as well as an annotated version with notes on the text. It originally retailed for $3.95 USD, but I picked it up for half of that price.

Today, The Art of War is read widely by businessmen hoping to translate some of the Art to the cutthroat world of business… which I guess would be akin to Terry Gilliam’s “The Crimson Permanent Assurance” short film.


(This footage of the Chamblin’s Book Mine was not shot by me).

Gutenberg page for The Art of War.

One Response to “The Art of War”

  1. Nice! I first read the Art of War when I was in high school and thought it was kind of boring. If read literally in can be kind of boring (during the rainy season, don’t take out your chariot???) But a more figurative/symbolic read can can be really interesting.

Leave a Reply

