Flyboys

The short review of this book would be “This book is awesome, if you even remotely like WWII related things, you will dig this book.”

The long review is thus:

After watching the film based on Mr. Bradley’s first book, “Flags of Our Fathers” and eventually reading the book, I knew I would seek out anything this man wrote. That was when I found Flyboys. I had purchased the book around the same time as I was reading Flags, but felt I could not read it immediately as I could only handle so many real war accounts in one go.

I made my way back to Flyboys a week ago and loved it, of course. I love Mr. Bradley’s writing style, how he handles the subject matter with grace and aplomb, never interjecting his own thoughts into the mix.

He could have written the whole book without talking to any Japanese soldiers, no one would have minded. But that’s not his way. He sought out and talked to people on all sides of the war. From the surviving pilots from the American side, the surviving members of the Japanese army and even the civilians affected by war: The family of those who went off to war and the people whose family were unfortunate victims of circumstance.

A few times throughout the book I came across passages that I could scarcely believe (if you read the book, you will not have any difficulty identifying them), but it’s all true.

My grandfather served in the Navy in WWII, he was stationed on a submarine chaser in the Pacific. I’ve been wanting to write a book about his ship for a long time. I hope that when it’s completed it’s seen as being as good as Mr. Bradley’s books.

Mr. Bradley’s website for Flyboys.

3 Responses to “Flyboys”

  1. Hi, Bradley. Other WWI subchaser-related books are listed in the “Resources and Links” section of The Subchaser Archives site. Millholland’s is one of the more entertaining of the several books written by WWI chaser commanders. Moffat’s is a bit tougher going. The full text of Chambers’ book is on the site (it’s very short). And, if you’re interested in a history of chasers — details of the equipment, building the fleet, etc — based on primary source research, there is my book (listed on the home page).

    For WWII-era chasers, take a look at Ted Treadwell’s book, _Splinter Fleet: The Wooden Subchasers of WWII_ and his website, splinterfleet.org

    • Bradley Hall Says:

      It’s great to hear from you.

      I’ve read Mr. Treadwell’s book, “Splinter Fleet: The Wooden Subchasers of WWII” though I have yet to read his latest. I frequent both his website and subchaser.org quite often. I will definitely have to check your book out as well.

  2. […] Flyboys November 20092 comments […]

Leave a Reply

