Ever More History

Over the past few weeks, I have been working with a friend on his class assignment. His assignment was to interview someone. He chose me because I “have a lot of cool things to talk about.”

We set up an interview date and I went to it. I spoke of many things, the USPP, the radio station, and my grandfather’s involvement in WWII, which is something I love researching.

The day before the interview, I had got back in touch with a few people who either served on the same ship my grandfather did or knew someone who had.

Both guys sent me new information and new pictures. It was so awesome.

So, the primary focus of that interview was WWII.

Today I went with the friend who did the interview back to the college to help find film clips he could use and supply other information such as what pictures I had access to.

While tooling around archive.org, we found a PDF of a war diary kept by Thornton V. Sigler while he was held in a POW camp in WWII.

I couldn’t wait to get home to download and read this document. It’s almost like Sigler knew that this story would one day be released and be worth something to people researching WWII.

Mr. Sigler, or his family who runs the website that bears his name, could have sold his manuscript for who knows how much money, yet, they didn’t. They chose instead to release it for free under a Creative Commons license.

Mr. Sigler’s writing is in depth. He talks about every day in the stalag, who his friends were, what kind of food they ate, what the care packages they received contained, recipes of things they’d tried to cook, drawings of the patches worn by other inmates or guards, he even went so far as to note the temperatures when it got cold.

This is a brilliant historic find.

TV Sigler website
Archive.org page.

Leave a Reply

