I write like who?

I’m ganking this from my Professor’s blog. He found it first. I’m having fun with it.

He found a site called “I Write Like” at http://iwl.me.

The thing is, you paste a mess of your writing in the open field and click “analyze” then it does something and tells you what famous writer you write like.

I was hoping to be told I wrote like Theodore Kaczynski (The Unabomber) with a piece I uploaded, yet was surprised to find I actually write like… Cory Doctorow?

While I enjoy Mr. Doctorow’s writing, I don’t think I write anything like him. The only thing similar between what I posted and what he writes is that we both used a lot of computer-y terms.

So I tried another sample of my writing and was told I wrote like Margaret Atwood… whoever that is.

At this point, I found my doc of the real Unabomber’s “Industrial Society and Its Future.” I copied and pasted the first 19 chapters of this into the field and found that Mr. Kaczynski writes like… Mario Puzo? The guy who wrote The Godfather?

I became a bit happy when the first chapter of Cory Doctorow’s book, Content, came back with the result that he writes like Cory Doctorow.

I input the first chapter from my novel, The CN Tower Belongs to the Dead, into the machine and got back an unexpected result… who is Ursula K Le Guin?

On second thought, as a Red Wings fan, why did I even mention the Maple Leafs in the last sentence of that chapter?

The article I recently had published in the Folio Weekly reads like Cory Doctorow, this thing says.

Chapter one of Bram Stoker’s Dracula reads like Bram Stoker according to this thing.

The first nine pages of John Milton’s Paradise Lost read like William Shakespeare.

The first six pages of Adolf Hitler’s Mein Kampf (English translation) reads like Mary Shelley.

A WWII article I wrote reads like Dan Brown?

This whole thing is crazy. I’m going to stop here before I start sounding like Lovecraft.

My Professor’s entry
I Write Like

Leave a Reply

