Transit

A few weeks ago, a friend of mine asked me to help him find a book his father had read in his youth and had wanted to read again. My friends know me as the “Master Librarian” so he came to me for help.

He told me what he knew of the book and I set out to try to find it. Later that night, I came across this book, Transit, by Edmund Cooper. It was written in the 1960s, so it existed in the 1980s when his father says he read it.

We planned to go check out Chamblin’s Book Mine (mentioned elsewhere in this blog, also check out the YouTube video “Chamblin Fevre Dream” I believe). When we arrived at the bookstore, they had five copies of the book. We bought three. One for me because I wanted to read it, and my friend bought two because he and his father wanted to read it.

(I also bought Snow Crash, a book for another post).

It took me a weekend to read Transit. It’s not that long at only 246 pages. Its language is simple, but not too simple. It’s not a science fiction book that beats you over the head with its sci-finess. It tells you enough so you know what’s going on and how, but does not bore you with details.

One thing I found odd is that one of the books my friend bought advertised a film based on Transit was “Coming Soon.” It is now 46 years after this book was written. If a film was going to be made, it would most likely have been made already.

No mention of a film appears anywhere else. Not on Wikipedia and not on IMDB. For all intents and purposes, the film was never made.

For most reviews I put a link to the official website of the publisher, book, or author, but this book, it was written decades before the Internet came out.

Leave a Reply

