Quotes Every Man Should Know

quotes_EMSK_final_72dpi

“Over the past few years,” I thought while typing this review. “I have reviewed many books. One thing I have never reviewed, though, is a book of quotations.”

“How do you review a book of quotations?” I asked myself. “Even if there’s two or three quotations you don’t care about, there’s bound to be many more that you do.”

Well, as Bruce Lee says on page 42, “Use only that which works, and take it from any place you can find it.”

“That gave me an idea, how about using quotes to review a book of quotes? As Julio Cortázar said, ‘In quoting others, we cite ourselves.’”

“A good day is one where I can not just read a book, but write a review of it. Maybe today I’ll be able to do that. I get for some reason somewhat stronger when the sun starts to go down. Dusk is a good time for me. I’m crepuscular.” ~ Christopher Hitchens

“Two thumbs up.” ~ Roger Ebert

“Books serve to show a man that those original thoughts of his aren’t very new at all.” ~ Abraham Lincoln

“There are worse crimes than burning books. One of them is not reading them.” ~ Ray Bradbury

“Books of quotations are always a fun read. Old quotes are like tweets before Twitter. ~ Bradley Hall

http://quirkbooks.com/book/quotes-every-man-should-know

Leave a Reply

